Beginner Sewing Machine Feature Census

Five machines already reviewed by Karamat Sews, compared using manufacturer-listed specifications. Checked September 28, 2026. Built-in stitch count is the only like-for-like count shown as a common comparison; it does not measure quality or results.

Five machines selected by Karamat Sews for its beginner sewing-machine roundup. This is a convenience sample, not a representative sample of the market.

Official specifications at a glance

“Not stated” means the cited official page did not provide that detail in the specification read for this snapshot. Accessory counts are kept distinct from presser-foot counts.

Manufacturer-listed details for the five reviewed models; retrieved September 28, 2026
ModelBuilt-in stitchesMax speedButtonholeFeet / accessoriesFeed-dog pointsNeedle threaderDimensionsBobbin
Brother XM270127800 stitches per minute1 one-step style6 included accessory feet6 pointsAutomatic15.3 × 5.9 × 12.1 inQuick-set, drop-in top bobbin
SINGER Heavy Duty 4423231,100 stitches per minute (maximum listed)1-step style13 accessories listed; accessory count is not a presser-foot countNot stated on cited product pageAutomatic15.5 × 6.25 × 12 inClass 15 transparent bobbin
Brother CS7000X70750 stitches per minute (maximum listed)7 one-step styles10 included sewing feetNot stated on cited product pageAutomatic12.2 × 6.65 × 16.26 inQuick-set bobbin system; exact class not stated on cited page
Brother SM170417750 stitches per minute (maximum listed)1 four-step style4 included sewing feet6 pointsManualNot stated on cited product pageQuick-set, drop-in top bobbin
SINGER M15006Not stated on cited product page1 four-step style3 presser feet named on cited page; accessory list may include non-feetNot stated on cited product pageManual threading (no automatic system listed)13 × 7 × 11.5 inClass 15 transparent, front-loading

What the counts do and do not mean

SINGER describes stitch applications as techniques a person can sew using selected stitches. Its 97 applications on the 4423 and 57 on the M1500 are not built-in stitch counts, so they are shown separately rather than combined with Brother's stitch totals.

Speed, stitch totals, accessory lists and dimensions are manufacturer specifications, not a performance test. The small set was chosen from this site's reviews; it cannot describe the wider sewing-machine market. No price, availability, rating or fabric-performance claim is included.

Primary manufacturer sources

The free Beginner Sewing Supplies Checklist Get it